PerFlow'22

International Workshop on Pervasive Information Flow (PerFlow'22) in conjunction with PerCom 2022

Technical Program


Date: March 21, 2022 (Monday)


9:20 - 9:30 CET (17:20 - 17:30 JST) : Session 1 Opening

Chair: Keiichi Yasumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)


9:30 - 10:30 CET (17:30 - 18:30 JST) : Session 2 Security and Federated Learning in Pervasive Systems

Chair: Keiichi Yasumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)

  • Capability Based Network Access Control for Smart Home Devices
  • Naoki Matsumoto, Daisuke Kotani and Yasuo Okabe (Kyoto University, Japan)

  • Federated Self-Supervised Learning in heterogeneous settings: limits of a baseline approach on HAR
  • Sannara EK (Grenoble University & Grenoble Computer Science Laboratory, France); Romain Rombourg (Grenoble University, France); Fran├žois Portet (Laboratory LIG, UMR CNRS/INPG/UJF 5217, Team GETALP, France); Philippe Lalanda (Grenoble University, France)


10:30 - 10:45 CET (18:30 - 18:45 JST) : Break


10:45 - 11:45 CET (18:45 - 19:45 JST) : Session 3 Indoor Positioning and Human Identification in Pervasive Systems

Chair: Jose Paolo Talusan (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)

  • Feasibility Study of Magnetism-based Indoor Positioning Methods in an Incineration Plant
  • Rei Okumura (Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST), Japan); Ismail Arai (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan); Yutaro Atarashi and Kaoru Kawabata (Hitachi Zosen Corporation, Japan); Kazutoshi Fujikawa (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)

  • An Accurate Point Cloud-Based Human Identification Using Micro-Size LiDAR
  • Shota Yamada, Hirozumi Yamaguchi and Hamada Rizk (Osaka University, Japan)


11:45 - 12:00 CET (19:45 - 20:00 JST) : Break


12:00 - 13:00 CET (20:00 - 21:00 JST) : Session 4 Keynote Talk

Chair: Hirozumi Yamaguchi (Osaka University, Japan)

  • Keynote: IoT Edge Computing Technologies for Beyond 5G Era
  • Yuuichi Teranishi (NICT, Japan)


  • Abstract: The edge computing technology is a key feature for the applications in 5G and Beyond 5G (B5G) to process a high volume data generated from Internet of Things (IoT) devices/sensors efficiently with low latency. This talk presents a data collection and processing platform for IoT applications in the mobile edge computing environment that we have been researching and developing. This talk also presents the B5G / IoT testbeds with wireless/edge computing features operated by National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan (NICT).

  • Biography: Yuuichi Teranishi received the M.E. and Ph.D. degrees from Osaka University, Japan, in 1995 and 2004, respectively. From 1995 to 2004, he was engaged Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation. From 2005 to 2007, he was a Lecturer with the Cybermedia Center, Osaka University, where he was an Associate Professor with Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, from 2007 to 2011. Since August 2011, he has been a Research Manager with the National Institute of Information and Communications Technology and a Guest Associate Professor with the Cybermedia Center, Osaka University. His research interests include technologies for distributed network systems and applications. He received the IPSJ Best Paper Award in 2011.

  • *CET: Central European Time
  • *JST: Japan Standard Time